Having a driver’s license is a very important thing to have in your wallet. Sure the picture is a little goofy or they didn’t capture your good side, but there are more important reasons to have one. It proves you are a licensed driver, serves as your personal I.D., lets emergency officials know you are an organ donor and who you are in the case of an accident, shows your legal age if you want to buy alcohol or tobacco, and allows you to travel since most airlines require an I.D. But as awesome and important it is to have a valid driver’s license, there are situations in which you can lose the privilege of having one.
Reasons for a Suspended License
There are numerous reasons your license can be suspended in Texas. Reasons can be anything from not paying traffic tickets to missing fines you didn’t know you had. But the most common reason is a DWI or DUI. Here is a list of other reasons why license can be suspended:
- Drug Offenses
- Out-of-State Offenses
- Traffic Violations
- Driving with no license
- Driving without insurance
- Delinquent Child Support Revocation
- Physical or psychological disqualification
There are several other violations that could be a reason for a suspended license and it will cost you if you are caught driving with one. The fine amount in Texas will depend on the circumstances and not only will you be fined, but you could face possible jail time.
You Can Get Your Suspended Texas License Reinstated
Having a suspended license isn’t a death sentence, there are options for getting your license reinstated. If it’s within 15 days of your issued suspension, you might be able to request an ALR, administrative license revocation, in which you will be requestioning a hearing. Stay on top your license status because after the 15 day period you will most likely be denied.
If you’re not happy with the results of the hearing, you can request an appeal. There is no specific time for how long your license will be suspended or cost to reinstate it, that will all depend on your situation. During the time of your suspension, you can get an I.D. card, which is a good idea.
There is light at the end of the tunnel. But getting your license back is going to take more than just a trip to the TDPS or your local DMV. You will need the expertise of a Wylie attorney to help guide you through the whole process. Contact Edmondson Law, PLLC at 972-442-8326 to learn more about what we can do for you.
Information, Not Legal Advice. We provide the information on this website as a public service. The legal landscape is constantly changing and being modified by state law and case law. As a result, we cannot promise that this information is always up-to-date and reflective of the most current jurisprudence.
We do not intend this information to be legal advice. By providing this information, we are not acting as your lawyer. If you need legal advice, you should contact a lawyer through our number (972) 442-8326 or contact another attorney of your choosing.