Criminal Law Attorneys at Edmondson Law Firm
Edmondson Law- Misdemeanor Defense in Wylie
In the state of Texas, a misdemeanor is a lesser crime than a felony but can still carry serious consequences. This can include imprisonment at the county jail for up to a year, lengthy probation terms, and large fines. Typical misdemeanors include DWI, DUI, assault – family violence, possession of marijuana, resisting arrest, theft by check, shoplifting, minor in possession, public intoxication, unlawful carrying of a weapon, and burglary of a vehicle.
There are three levels of misdemeanors in Texas: Class A, Class B, and Class C
- Class C Misdemeanors are punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and include Public Intoxication and Driving Under the Influence (DUI).
- Class B Misdemeanors are punishable by up to 0 to 6 months in county jail or probation, a maximum fine of $2,000 and include possession of marijuana and driving while intoxicated (DWI).
- Class A Misdemeanors are punishable by up to one year in county jail or probation, a maximum fine of $2,000, and typically include assault and theft $500 – $1500.
Even though misdemeanor crimes may not seem as serious as felonies, that does not mean they cannot affect your life. Even misdemeanor probation can last up to two years.
Certain misdemeanor convictions can serious impact you in a divorce or child custody proceeding, lead to lengthy driver’s license suspensions, disqualification from receiving federal financial aid to attend college, and restrictions on your ability to own a firearm.
If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, it is critical that you have an experienced misdemeanor defense lawyer to represent you. A misdemeanor likely will show up on a background check and can affect your ability to get a job. Once you are convicted or plead guilty, it will remain on your record forever. Being accused or convicted of a misdemeanor can have devastating effects on your life.
Contact a Criminal Lawyer in Wylie Today– For misdemeanors, you still need an experienced Criminal Defense attorney to fight the charges against you.
Serving the residents of Wylie, Murphy, Sachse, Lavon and surrounding communities in Felony Defense
A felony is a serious crime, typically violent in nature, and more than likely punishable by over a year in prison. In Texas, you can be charged with five different types of felony charges. Each type of felony fluctuates dramatically in length of jail and/or prison time, possible fines, and penalties.
5 Types of Felony Charges in Texas are Classified as Followed:
State Jail Felony
- Maximum Fine of $10,000
- 6 Months to 2 Years in a State Jail Facility or Probation
3rd Degree Felony
- Maximum Fine of $10,000
- 2 to 10 Years in the Texas Department of Corrections (“TDC”) or Probation
2nd Degree Felony
- Maximum Fine of $10,000
- 2 to 20 Years in TDC or Probation
1st Degree Felony
- Maximum Fine of $10,000
- 5 to 99 Years in TDC or Probation
Felony criminal charges are serious business. You need an aggressive criminal defense lawyer who will work hard to get the charges reduced to lesser misdemeanor charges or dismissed.
Just because you have been arrested and charged with a felony in Texas does not mean that the police followed proper procedure or that everything was done correctly. Our team of experienced felony defense lawyers at Edmondson Law, PLLC will not dither in their pursuit for justice. Our attorneys will tell you what to expect in a criminal case and help you and your family make informed decisions. We will use our experience and knowledge to mount a vigorous defense against serious Texas state felony charges.
Edmondson Law, PLLC
If you are facing aggravated assault or other felony charges and are in need of an experienced Texas trial lawyer, we can help. To discuss your matter in confidence with an experienced Wylie Criminal Defense Lawyer, schedule a confidential consultation by calling us at 972-442-8326.
Expungement Attorneys in Wylie, Texas
If you have been arrested for committing a crime, then you know how significantly your life can be affected in the time that follows. Even if you weren’t actually convicted, your criminal record from your past can have extensive negative effects on your livelihood. Most jobs use criminal background checks to assist with making hiring decisions, making it difficult to move forward and rebuild your life for you and your family.
Fortunately, there is a remedy for this. You may be able to expunge the record with the help of an experienced attorney at Edmondson Law. Having a clean record is extremely important. A criminal record may harm your future chances at employment, education, and housing, just to name a few. The right to expunction is upheld under Article 55.01 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. If you were arrested, but never convicted, you may qualify for expungement. However, if you were convicted of a crime, the conviction cannot be expunged.
Here are some important notes to keep in mind about expungements:
- If you were acquitted in a trial by a jury or judge, you are eligible for an expungement.
- There is a minimum 6-month waiting period (and may last up to several years) before you are eligible to expunge prior criminal offenses.
- The exception to the above is if a prosecutor dismissed the case for lack of probable cause, false information, or mistake at the time of arrest.
- If you were convicted of a crime and sent to jail, prison, or probation, then you may not be eligible for expungement.
- You may be eligible for a non-disclosure if your case was not dismissed or you were not acquitted by a jury.
Ready to Move Forward?
Having a clean record is extremely important. Even if the crime took place several years in the past, it could still have a negative effect on you. Your record is made public, and the internet has made it easy for others to have access to your private affairs such as the charges and sentencing.
Record expungement may be available to you. An experienced criminal defense attorney from Edmondson Law can assist in the process of sealing your arrest records, expunging your criminal record or sealing your juvenile record. Contact us today if you feel you have a case where you may be eligible for expunction.
Driver’s License Suspension Lawyers
Obtaining a driver’s license in the state of Texas is a privilege and not a right like most would think. Driving While License Invalid or Suspended is a criminal offense charged when an individual drives a motor vehicle at a time when their Driver’ License is either invalid or suspended. It can be taken away if you violate state laws such as:
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
- Not attending mandatory rehabilitation or driving courses
- Not paying surcharges on moving violations
- Having too many traffic tickets
Our attorneys will aggressively defend your driving privileges or help you reinstate them if they have been suspended. You could face a range of penalties should you be convicted of this misdemeanor; penalties can include fines and surcharges, confinement in jail, and a longer driver’s license suspension.
|Class C Misdemeanor||Not Jailable, No more than $500 fines.|
|Class B Misdemeanor||No more than 180 days in a county jail, and/or no more than $2,000 fines.|
|Class A Misdemeanor||No more than one year in a county jail, and/or no more than $4,000 fines.|
Just because you’ve been charged with driving with a suspended license doesn’t mean you’re guilty or out of options. Let us take a closer look at your case, so we can advise you of your options for fighting these charges and saving your license.
Seek out the expertise of a qualified legal professional at Edmondson Law. You can rest assured we will work tirelessly to fight for the outcome you deserve. Contact us today to discuss your legal case and what we can do to help you.